17th July 2019


Chernobyl has secured 19 Emmy nominations including a nod in the limited series category, making it the third most nominated show after Game of Thrones and The Marvelous Mrs Maisel.

Written by Craig Mazin, directed by Johan Renck and produced by Sister Pictures, The Mighty Mint and Word Games for Sky Atlantic and HBO, the 19 Emmy awards nominations include Outstanding Limited Series, Outstanding Lead Actor – Jared Harris, Outstanding Supporting Actress – Emily Watson, Outstanding Actor – Stellan Skarsgård and Outstanding Writing – Craig Mazin.

Elsewhere, the five-part series, which tells the story of the 1986 nuclear accident in the Soviet Union, picked up nominations in casting, directing, production design, hairstyling, makeup and prosthetic makeup, writing, cinematography and a raft of other craft nods.

Craig Mazin, Creator, writer and Executive Producer Chernobyl “I’m thrilled that the Television Academy has honoured Chernobyl with 19 nominations. Our show was a labour of love by so many, so it was particularly gratifying to see how our cast and crew was acknowledged across the board. We all worked so hard to bring Chernobyl to the screen, and we’re overwhelmed by this recognition by our colleagues.”

Jane Featherstone, Executive Producer of Chernobyl, Sister Pictures said: “Wow! Chernobyl is a story we all felt passionate about telling and it has been an extraordinary collaboration across all departments. What a great honour it is for so many cast and crew to be acknowledged in such a way. And what incredible company to be in. We’re thrilled.”

Zai Bennett, Managing Director, Content, Sky UK & Ireland said: “We are delighted that Chernobyl, our most successful ever Sky original drama, has been nominated for a phenomenal 19 Emmys. It is testament to the brilliant vision and script of Craig Mazin, the direction of Johan Renck and the dedication of Jane Featherstone, Carolyn Strauss and the talented team at Sister Pictures who produced such a gripping series.

The full list of award nominations for Chernobyl:

Outstanding Limited Series – Chernobyl
Outstanding Lead Actor in a Limited Series – Jared Harris
Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Limited Series – Emily Watson
Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Limited Series – Stellan Skarsgård
Outstanding Directing For a Limited Series – Johan Renck
Outstanding Writing For a Limited Series – Craig Mazin
Outstanding Production Design for Narrative Period – Luke Hull, Karen Wakefield, Claire Levinson-Gendler
Outstanding Casting for a Limited Series – Nina Gold and Robert Sterne
Outstanding Cinematography for a Limited Series – Jakob Ihre
Outstanding Period Costumes – Odile Dicks-Mireaux, Daiva Petrulyte, Holly McLean, Anna Munro, Sylvie Org
Outstanding Hairstyling for a Limited Series – Julio Parodi, Jovana Jovanavic
Outstanding Makeup (Non-Prosthetic) for a Limited Series – Daniel Parker, Natasha Nikolic-Dunlop